Chambers off GOP runoff ballot, not eligible due to convictions

Former Indian Lake Police Chief John Chambers will not be on the Republican runoff ballot with Victor Cortez, Cameron County GOP Chairman Morgan Graham said Thursday.
Grahamn said state officials have said that the Texas Election Code states that Chambers is ineligible to run, although involved in a runoff with Cortez in the May 1 election, because as a convicted felon Chambers cannot get a peace officer’s license.
Chambers was recently convicted of 14 charges of tampering with government records. Because of the convictions, even though he is appealing them, he is ineligible for the license.

4 comments for “Chambers off GOP runoff ballot, not eligible due to convictions

  1. IA
    March 11, 2016 at 5:44 pm

    This is what Democratic rule has done to some of the nation’s cities. Looks like the Valley is one of the poorest areas in the country due to Democratic rule. I suggest voting for someone who will make a difference this time around. At least give them a chance.

    • jjr
      March 12, 2016 at 8:32 pm

      Man,how in the Hell can they boo when she did not tell the truth? That is a fact and they support her effort to run for prez? Come on. These people obviously can not reason and come to the conclusion she is a liar. Either they are brainwashed or outright stupid or,OR are delusional fanatics.

      “Clinton admitted to George Stephanopoulos in December that she’d told conflicting statements on what led to the attack on the American diplomatic compound in Benghazi. She blamed it on “the fog of war.”

      What a load of S%!T. She was not IN the firefight. How long were they asking for added security? Look at that picture of that witch and remember the MAN next to her that she basically let die.

  2. The Real Dennis
    March 12, 2016 at 4:25 pm

    Congratulations to Morgan Graham and using her common sense and the law to get this guy off the ballot. Still cannot believe that there were voters wasting a vote on this guy? Good luck to Robert Rodriguez and Victor Cortez!

Comments are closed.